June 11- July 3, 2016

June 11- July 3, 2016

Opening reception Saturday June 11th, 6-10pm

Cinthia Gomez, Alyssa (Copy 2 - Sequence 3 - Satellite), Fabric, synthetic fibers, bone and plastic, 2016
Daniela Koontz, Visual List: Ugly Food, Watercolor on Arches paper, 2007
David McClain, Untitled I (from the series Mission Photographs), Graphite on paper, 2016
Emily Link, Boyguts (detail), Mixed media, 2013
Delaney Smith, Activity M, Dyed paper, encaustic, stapler, and staples, 2015
Janine Hughes, Acceptable Risk, mixed media with video, 2012
Tudor Mitroi, Dark Green Ochre Journal, 9.2015-1.2016, Egg tempera on paper, 2016
Matthew Kelly Debbaudt, here is the no telling, Acrylic, paper and collage on canvas, 2016
Kristy Peet, 29°45’42.0”N 95°23’53.6”W, Silver gelatin print with gold leaf, 2015

Bayou : By Us

Matthew Kelly Debbaudt, Cinthia Gomez, Janine Hughes, Daniela Koontz, Emily Link, David McClain, Tudor Mitroi, Kristy Peet, and Delaney Smith

Bayou : By Us is a group exhibition of work by member artists of the Houston, TX organization, BOX 13 ArtSpace. BOX 13 is a volunteer, artist run gallery and studio space in Houston’s East End, housed in an old sewing machine factory and showroom. The focus of the 20+ artist collective is the promotion and presentation of experimental contemporary art, and each of the artist members work within this vein. The sharing of space, materials, ideas, and the work of running an organization all influence the group - as well as living in Houston, “The Bayou City.”  

Facebook invite

This exhibition is part of an exchange in which member artists of the Front will exhibit work at BOX 13 in early 2017. For the first iteration of this exchange between Houston and New Orleans, we focus on the shared experience of living on the gulf, among the weaving waterways, in the swamp of the south, the humidity, the charm, the contrast between our cities, and their closely connected communities.
Instagram/Twitter: @box13artspace

Matthew Kelly Debbaudt:
Cinthia Gomez:
Janine Hughes:
Daniela Koontz:
Emily Link:
David McClain:
Kristy Peet:
Delaney Smith: